BAFTA Nominations Announced

The British Academy for Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced its nominations for 2012. As usual the Academy has awarded a prestigious fellowship, which this year will go to Martin Scorsese, who is equally in the run for the Best Director prize, along with Michel Hazanavicius (The Artist), Nicolas Winding Refn (Drive), Thomas Alfredson (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy), and Lynne Ramsay (We Need to Talk about Kevin). This shortlist alone clearly demonstrates that the British Academy doesn’t mirror the overarching pattern of the international awards race. Refn, who swept the prix de la mise-en-scène at Cannes, Alfredson, and Ramsay were virtually absent from the American ballots, as were their films. Now War Horse (Steven Spielberg), The Ides of March (George Clooney) and Moneyball (Bennett Miller) seem to be the major omissions.

In this regard, the BAFTAs add much-need versatility to the annual awards race by honoring exceptional, often-neglected, and specifically national fare. Examples include Joe Cornish’s debut Attack the Block, Richard Ayoade’s Submarine, and Steve McQueen’s Shame.

The ceremony will be held on Sunday in February at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London, televised by BBC One, and hosted by Stephen Fry. It will be interesting to see how international releases will fare in jolly old England.

For a complete list of the BAFTA nominees see the official website here.


Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply